Member Countries


Capital city: Kuala Lumpur
Total area: 329,845 sq km
Population: 28.96 mln
Major religion: Islam (60%), Buddhism (19%)
Currency: Ringgit
Official language: Malay



Malaysia covers 329,845 square km with a population of 28.96 million people (as of year 2010). Geographically, Malaysia is as diverse as its culture. There are two parts to the country, 11 states in the peninsula of Malaysia (Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Malacca, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor and Terengganu) and two states on the northern part of Borneo (Sabah and Sarawak). There are also three Federal Territories, namely, Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan. Kuala Lumpur is the capital of Malaysia while Putrajaya is the Capital of Administrative and Federal Government. Malaysia shares its border with Singapore, Thailand, Brunei and Indonesia (Kalimantan).